Nails & Numbers

Home › Flooring › Hardwood Flooring Calculator

Hardwood Flooring Calculator

Layout rules quoted from Bruce document 210049

Every flooring calculator adds ten percent and stops. The installation sheet in the box publishes five, says what the five is actually for, and sets three minimums that decide whether five is enough.

Hardwood flooring takeoff

ft
ft
in
in

Layout minimums are quoted from Bruce document 210049. The cut waste is computed from your room. The money is This Old House's published range, attributed below, and this site publishes no price of its own.

Specification summary

Generated from on . Reopen that address to reproduce these figures exactly.

Entered

Result

This figure is drawn from the room you type in above.
The rows across the width, and the two that get ripped

Hardwood flooring prices, and the three bases mixed in them

Per sq ft, and read the third column before comparing rows
ItemLowHighUnit
All hardwood, installed$6$18materials and labor
Materials only$3$10materials
Labor only$3$8labor
Solid hardwood$5$28basis not stated
Engineered wood$6$23basis not stated
True parquet$13$40basis not stated
Parquet-style tiles$10$16basis not stated
5/16 in thick$2$5materials
3/4 in thick$3$10materials
7/8 in thick$5$15materials
Joist repair, if needed$2,000$5,000per job

Source: This Old House, hardwood flooring cost. Last price check: September 9, 2026.

The rows are not all on one basis and the page does not say so. Materials plus labor is given as 6 to 18, yet solid hardwood is listed at 5 to 28 and parquet at 13 to 40, both of which run outside that total. The 3/4 in thickness row, 3 to 10, is the materials-only range exactly. Compare rows against the unit column, not against each other.

Hardwood floor refinishing prices

As each row states
ItemLowHighUnit
Refinishing, typical project$1,107$2,681total
Sand and refinish$3$8per sq ft
10 x 10 ft room$200$800total
20 x 20 ft room$1,000$2,500total
Labor$2$8per sq ft
Labor, hourly$60$160per hour
Stairs$4.50$8per sq ft
Board replacement$6$12per sq ft
Floor repair$200$600total

Source: HomeAdvisor, how much does hardwood floor refinishing cost. Last price check: September 15, 2026.

The 10 x 10 ft row is $2 to $8 per sq ft and the 20 x 20 ft row $2.50 to $6.25, both starting below the source's $3 rate.

Oak flooring prices

As each row states
ItemLowHighUnit
Oak flooring, typical project$7,500$18,000total
150 sq ft$1,100$2,700total
300 sq ft$2,200$5,400total
1,000 sq ft$7,500$18,000total
Solid red oak$8$12per sq ft
Solid white oak$9$14per sq ft
Engineered red oak$7$11per sq ft
Engineered white oak$8$13per sq ft
Prefinished oak$8$15per sq ft
Unfinished oak$7$12per sq ft
Wide plank or reclaimed$12$18per sq ft

Source: HomeAdvisor, how much does oak flooring cost. Last price check: September 15, 2026.

The source's typical project is its 1,000 sq ft row; its whole-house 2,000 sq ft row is $15,000 to $36,000.

Bamboo flooring prices

As each row states
ItemLowHighUnit
Bamboo floor, 250 sq ft room$1,750$5,000total
Bamboo flooring, installed$7$20per sq ft
Material$2$10per sq ft
Installation$5$10per sq ft
Floating installation$5$7per sq ft
Glue-down or nail-down installation$8$10per sq ft
Engineered bamboo$2$5per sq ft, material
Horizontal bamboo$3$6per sq ft, material
Vertical bamboo$4$10per sq ft, material
Strand-woven bamboo$5$10per sq ft, material

Source: HomeAdvisor, how much does bamboo flooring cost. Last price check: September 26, 2026.

The 250 sq ft room at $1,750 to $5,000 is exactly the source's $7 to $20 per sq ft installed.

Worked example

A 16 ft by 12 ft room in 5 in wide, 48 in engineered hardwood, laid straight.

  1. The gap comes off first. Bruce asks for 1/2 in around all vertical obstructions, so 144 in of width becomes 143 in usable and 192 in of length becomes 191.
  2. 143 divided by 5 is 28.6, so 29 rows. The last one is 3.00 in, comfortably over the 1 in minimum, so the first row goes down full width and nothing is ripped that did not have to be.
  3. Now widen the room by two and a half inches and watch what happens. At 12 ft 2.4 in the usable width is 145.4, which is 29 whole rows and 0.4 in left. That is under the minimum, so both edge rows are ripped to 2.70 in and the count goes to 30.
  4. The waste doubles for a two-inch change. 1.9% on the first room, 3.7% on the second, entirely because of where the width happened to land against the plank.
  5. The offcut is 1.00 in and it is not worth having. Four planks cover 192 in of a 191 in run. Bruce publishes no minimum length for the first piece in a row, so on its own rules that inch passes the stagger test; this page counts it as scrap, and says so.
  6. Both rooms come in under the published 5%. Which is the honest answer: for a plain rectangle the allowance is generous. It is the bay window, the hearth and the three doorways that break it, and no percentage can see those.

The number worth carrying to the yard is the order quantity, and the number worth carrying to the estimate is the 3.7%, because it is the one that changed when nothing about the job did.

The formula

Two divisions with a remainder, and a test on each remainder:

rows = ⌈(W − 2g) / w⌉, and if the remainder < minimum, both edge rows = (remainder + w) / 2
W, g
room width and the expansion gap the document specifies, both in inches
w
the plank FACE width, which is what covers floor, not the nominal size on the box
remainder
(W − 2g) − (rows − 1) × w, the last row before any rip
minimum
1 in for this manufacturer, and it is the whole reason the first row gets ripped too

The same two lines run along the length with the plank length instead of the width, and there the remainder is the offcut rather than a row. Whether that offcut is usable is a second test, against the stagger, and the two manufacturers on this site set it a factor of two to three apart.

Why there is no single price on this page

The money below is This Old House's, with their byline and their date. This site publishes no price of its own, on any page, because a national figure for hardwood is stale the week it is written and wrong in most of the country the day it is published.

The rows in that table are not all on one basis, and the source does not say so. Materials plus labor is given as $6 to $18 per square foot. Solid hardwood is listed at $5 to $28 and true parquet at $13 to $40, both of which run outside that total, so they cannot be the same measurement. Compare a row against its unit column, never against another row.

One of those rows is exactly another one. The 3/4 in thickness row is $3 to $10, which is the materials-only range to the dollar. That is either a coincidence or the thickness table is the materials table wearing a different hat, and there is no way to tell from the page.

What this site contributes is the quantity, and that part is exact. The rows, the rips, the offcut and the waste all come out of your dimensions and the manufacturer's own minimums, and they do not move with the market.

The 5% is not a cut allowance, it is the defect rate

Ask any flooring calculator how much extra to order and it says ten percent, with no source. Bruce prints a number and, in the same paragraph, prints what it is for:

These hardwood floors were manufactured in accordance with accepted industry standards, which permit grading deficiencies not to exceed 5%. These grading deficiencies may be of a manufacturing or natural type. When flooring is ordered, 5% must be added to the actual square footage needed for cutting and grading allowance (10% for diagonal installations).

Quoted from Bruce (AHF Products), Engineered Hardwood installation instructions, document 210049. Read 2026-09-09.

Read the two sentences together. The standards permit grading deficiencies up to 5%, and the allowance you are told to add is 5%. The published allowance is the permitted defect rate. It covers the boards in the box you are entitled to reject, and it leaves essentially nothing for cutting.

Which is why the same sentence says 10% for diagonal installations. Diagonal does not double the defects, it doubles the cutting, and the extra five points is the whole of what the document allots to cuts even then.

So a straight lay in a plain rectangle is genuinely fine on 5%. A floor with a bay, three doorways and a stair nose is not, and no percentage will tell you that. The cut waste is geometry, and the calculator above computes it from your room rather than assuming it.

The last row has a minimum width, and it can cost you the first row too

Divide the room width by the plank width and you get a number of rows and a remainder. Every calculator stops there. The installation documents do not:

Plan the floor layout (in width) to avoid having to rip the last row narrower than 1˝ (2.5 cm). This may require ripping the first row to assure the last row is at least the minimum width.

Quoted from Bruce (AHF Products), Engineered Hardwood installation instructions, document 210049. Read 2026-09-09.

The minimum is 1.00 in.

And the instruction bolted to it is the part nobody repeats: if the remainder falls below that, you do not lay one thin row, you rip the first row as well and split the remainder between them. A ripped first row is a full-width board with most of it cut away. So the room that divided almost exactly into whole planks, which sounds like the lucky case, is the one that costs you an extra row.

Two and a half inches of room width is the difference. The worked example above runs the same floor at 12 ft and at 12 ft 2.4 in, and the waste goes from 1.9% to 3.7% on a change nobody would think to mention to a supplier.

Whether your offcut starts the next row is a published number

The offcut from the end of one row is supposed to start the next one. That is where the ten percent rule of thumb quietly assumes its savings, and whether you are allowed to take it depends on a figure printed in the instructions:

End-joints of adjacent rows should be staggered 4˝-6˝ (10-15 cm) when possible.

Quoted from Bruce (AHF Products), Engineered Hardwood installation instructions, document 210049. Read 2026-09-09.

The stagger required here is 4 to 6 in. A row started with a piece of length c puts its first end joint c from the wall, beside a row whose joint is a full plank from the wall, so the stagger between them is the plank length minus c. The offcut is usable while that difference clears the minimum, and scrap when it does not.

Bruce sets no minimum length for the first piece in a row at all. Only an upper bound, through the stagger. Read literally that permits a one-inch sliver to start a row, which is not what anyone means. This page borrows Pergo's 20 cm and counts the sliver as scrap, and flags that it has done so rather than burying the assumption in a total.

The expansion gap, and what it is measured around

Allow 1/2˝ (13 mm) expansion around all vertical obstructions.

Quoted from Bruce (AHF Products), Engineered Hardwood installation instructions, document 210049. Read 2026-09-09.

Around all vertical obstructions, not just the walls. Door casings, pipes, the hearth, an island foot. Each one is a gap and each one is a cut, and they are the cuts that generate scrap rather than reusable offcuts, because the pieces come out of the middle of a plank.

This document states a flat 1/2 in. The laminate guide from another manufacturer states a width-dependent formula instead, which is worth knowing before you assume a quarter inch everywhere is a rule.

Where these figures came from

Read 2026-09-09. Three manufacturer installation documents, each carrying a document number or a version date:

Bruce (AHF Products), Engineered Hardwood installation instructions
document 210049. Covers 3/8, 7/16, 1/2 and 9/16 in (10, 11, 13 and 14 mm) engineered hardwood. Source of the 5% grading and cutting allowance, the 1 in minimum last row, the 4 to 6 in stagger and the 1/2 in expansion space.
Pergo, Installation Guide LAMINATE FLOORING
Version 07.2026. Source of the 1 mm per m expansion formula, the 5 cm minimum first and last row, the 20 cm minimum first and last panel, the 30 cm minimum end-joint stagger and the 13 x 13 m maximum installation size.
Pergo, Installation instructions VINYL PLANKS & TILES (Rigid Click)
Version 11.2025. Source of the 8 mm expansion gap and the room-size limits that vary with temperature range: 13 x 13 m standard residential, 8 x 8 m at 5 to 65 C, 30 x 30 m with an HVAC system.

They are two manufacturers, and that is stated rather than hidden. Where they disagree, as they do on the stagger and on how the expansion gap is derived, this site prints both numbers instead of picking one. Your floor is governed by the document in your box, and if you still have it, that document beats every figure here.

There is no code table for any of this. The IRC has nothing to say about how you lay a plank floor, so unlike most pages on this site there is no public standard to fall back on and the manufacturer's instructions are the whole of the authority. That is also why the warranty is the thing at stake rather than an inspection.

Frequently asked questions

How much hardwood flooring do I need for a 16x12 room?
192 square feet of floor, and about 196 to order, once the 1.9% this particular room actually cuts is added. That figure is not a rule of thumb: it is 29 rows of 5 in plank across 143 in of usable width, with a 3.00 in last row, plus the offcut at the end of each run. Change the width by two and a half inches and the same room needs 203.
How much waste should I add for hardwood flooring?
The manufacturer publishes 5% for a straight lay and 10% for diagonal, and the same paragraph says what the 5% is for: the accepted standards permit grading deficiencies up to 5%, so the allowance is largely the boards you are entitled to reject rather than the boards you cut. For a plain rectangle it is still generous. For a room with a bay, a hearth and three doorways it is not, and this page computes the cutting part from your dimensions instead of guessing.
Why would I rip the first row of a hardwood floor?
Because the last one would otherwise be too narrow. Bruce's instruction is explicit: plan the layout to avoid ripping the last row narrower than 1 in, and this may require ripping the first row so the last one clears the minimum. The remainder is split between the two edges. It is the one case where a room that divides almost exactly into whole planks is the expensive one.
How far apart do hardwood end joints have to be?
Bruce asks for 4 to 6 in between the end joints of adjacent rows. That figure decides whether the offcut from one row can start the next one, because a row started with a piece of length c staggers by the plank length minus c. It is also not universal: Pergo's laminate guide asks for at least 30 cm, nearly three times as much.
What expansion gap does hardwood need?
This document says 1/2 in, and around all vertical obstructions rather than only at the walls. Door casings, pipes and hearths each need one, and each is a cut that produces scrap rather than a reusable offcut, because the piece comes out of the middle of a plank.
Is engineered hardwood cheaper than solid?
The source used here lists engineered at $6 to $23 per square foot and solid at $5 to $28, so the ranges overlap almost completely and the answer is that it depends on which board. The page notes engineered may be slightly less expensive; the table it prints does not clearly show that.
Does this calculator handle a diagonal layout?
It applies the manufacturer's diagonal allowance of 10% instead of 5%, and says so. It does not recompute the geometry diagonally, because a diagonal lay in a rectangular room produces a different cut at every row and that is a drawing exercise rather than a formula. Take the 10% as the document's figure and add for complexity yourself.
What is the labor cost to install hardwood flooring?
This Old House lists labor alone at $3 to $8 per square foot, against $3 to $10 for materials and $6 to $18 for the two together. For the 192 square foot room above, labor is $576 to $1,536. Those are the costs of putting in the floor, before any joist repair.
Is hardwood flooring the same as hardwood lumber?
No. Flooring is milled into tongue and groove boards and sold by the square foot, which is how this page counts it. Hardwood lumber is rough or surfaced stock in random widths and lengths, sold by the board foot.
How much does it cost to sand and refinish hardwood floors?
HomeAdvisor's refinishing guide gives $3 to $8 per square foot to sand and refinish, and $1,107 to $2,681 for a typical project. On the 192 square foot room above that is $576 to $1,536, and the guide's own 10 by 10 ft row is $200 to $800. Redoing, resurfacing or restoring a worn floor is this job: sanding takes the old finish off, restaining is done on the bare wood, and a new finish goes on. Where boards are damaged, the same guide prices board replacement at $6 to $12 per square foot.
How much does oak hardwood flooring cost?
HomeAdvisor's June 2026 guide gives $8 to $12 per square foot for solid red oak, $9 to $14 for solid white oak and $8 to $15 for prefinished oak, and $7,500 to $18,000 for 1,000 sq ft.
What is the labor cost to install hardwood floors?
This Old House's June 2026 article gives $3 to $8 per square foot of labor to install hardwood, against $6 to $18 per square foot installed with materials. A 300 sq ft room is $900 to $2,400 in labor.
How much does it cost to refinish engineered hardwood floors?
HomeAdvisor's June 2026 guide gives $3 to $8 per square foot to sand and refinish hardwood and $1,107 to $2,681 for a typical project. The guide does not price engineered floors separately.
How much do hardwood stairs cost?
HomeAdvisor's June 2026 guide gives $100 to $200 per step for oak treads and risers, $120 to $220 for maple and $90 to $170 for engineered hardwood.
How much does bamboo flooring cost per square foot?
HomeAdvisor's June 2026 bamboo guide gives $7 to $20 per square foot installed: $2 to $10 for the material and $5 to $10 for installation. By type, engineered bamboo is $2 to $5, horizontal $3 to $6, vertical $4 to $10 and strand-woven $5 to $10 per square foot for material. A 250 sq ft room is $1,750 to $5,000.

Check these numbers yourself

How every figure here is verified: Sources & Method. Who builds this: , and the method is on About. Found something wrong? Tell us and it gets fixed or removed.

Figures on this page last checked against the source documents on 2026-09-09. Codes are amended locally; confirm against the edition your jurisdiction enforces.

Related calculators

Guides that use this calculator

The governing document is the one in your box. The layout minimums here are quoted from one manufacturer's engineered hardwood instructions and another's laminate guide, and they disagree with each other on the stagger. Solid and engineered products from other makers set different figures. There is no code table for any of it: the IRC does not say how to lay a plank floor, so the manufacturer's instructions are the whole of the authority and the warranty is what is at stake. No dollar figure on this page is this site's own.